• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

1 Peice floor pans?

rusty1970

Has anyone had any experience installing one of these? I already have full length pans but, have been told by several people that a one peice is the way to go. I was just seeing if there are any pros and cons? That and it is more money too. Also I have never done installed pans before but am recruting a fellow stanger to help. Thanks 70_fastback!!!

Alls I can say is that I would have gone for it if I had to do it all over again. I was kind of upset that they came out with the 1 piece just after I finished my floors. I think the big benifit is that all or at least most the welds end up being plug welds so there is less work required since you don't need to fuss with fitment to butt weld and dress the joints. I think the full floor also includes the piece above the rear seat, so if you need to replace that too then just get the one piece. It seems to me a that with a 1 piece, once the area is prepped that it should take less than a day to fit and weld... compared to several to install full length 1/2 floors... I thnk I heard that you install the 1 piece through the winsheild opening so that may also play into your decision.

I can't speak for the '70, but I have put one in my '67 convertible and was very happy with the one piece floor. I ordered a convertible floor and found out it had the parking brake ribs that the '65's used. Otherwise it was very close to original and a piece of cake to install. If you can pick up the piece without paying shipping the price to me is well worth it.