• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

1967 2+2 Fastback A code with a K code engine, C5AE-6015-A.

I bought the car from a woman a few blocks from my home, It was given to her when her 91 father past away. It sat in her garage for 6 years when I bought the car. After driving it for a few weeks it started leaking from rear mains, trans, power steering, radiator and rear. I had the engine and trans pull by JMS Racing Engines in El Monte, CA. When they pulled the engine we found out it was a 289 hp C5AE-6015. The engine was .30 over and in great shape, JMS installed rings and bearings, seals and rebuilt trans. Is the car worth less because the engine
does not match the VIN number? Should I replace with the correct 289 225 hp?

I am no expert on "original" cars but in my opinion it should be worth more as the K code engine is more rare. But Mustang purists can be quite weird. I will always consider a nicely modified Mustang to be more valuable than a "correct" restored car because they are old and technology is dated. I drive mine, they don't go on a trailer or sit in a showroom garage. But I think it would be silly to put a A code 289 back in. The cost to "downgrade" would be a waste IMHO

Why do they think it's a K-code engine? Does it have the special distributor? The special harmonic balancer? Did it have a solid lifter cam? Does it have a VIN stamp? The special main caps? Special carb?