• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

351C Tuning Observations Long

After years of trying to find help getting my car to run right, always close but always bogged ran rough etc. Plus everyone local is sick of me asking stuff I decided to try to learn how to adjust timing/idle myself to try and get the buggs out. After messing with it I seem close to geting it to run pretty good but not being a mechanic I thought I would post some of the thing that it is doing after Ive messed with it and see if anything seems like it could be detrimental to the engine. I have a 351C automatic that is stock except non stock cam and heads with solid lifters and a Holley 600 carb. PO said cam,heads and lifters are for a 71 Boss 351 but I have no way to verify. Have been told that I might need the rockers adjusted but Im not sure that the person that told me that really has any idea. This probably seems kind of lame but Im just curious and dont want to hurt my engine.

After adjusting the timing and driving over and over It seems to run and drive the best timed 12 degrees.
Have idle set at 910 to 940 in park when put in gear its 640 to 660, any lower and it starts to want to die.
Temp gauge reads right in the middle at idle but goes down to about 1/4 at highway speeds. Doesnt overheat no matter how long it idles.
Oil presure reads in the middle at idle but goes to 3/4 at highway speeds.
Adusting carb with vac guage it reads 16bs of vac and turning screws up to 1 turn doesnt seem to affect vac or idle much much at all. No matter how much I turn them the vac doesnt get any higher than 16.

It seems to run pretty good set like it is and has hardly any hesitation and gets rubber when it hits 2nd. It loupes pretty good at idle but that would be the cam.

Opinions?

JBauer4363