• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

fiberglass prep

cmanf

Hey Guys,
Looking to smooth out the underside of my hood.
It just the rough finish now.
Do you sand it down or add resin then sand?
Didnt know if removing material would weaken the hood.
thanks.

My god Laurie that is beautiful!

Still the hours dont scare me I am a sign painter and do on a daily babsis the same things as any body guy painter does except I just havent done any fiberglass this rough yet.
Question still is rather to add resign or filler or sand smooth the rough underside?

Your example inspires me very much, still waiting on Davesasnbone (lol) to rip me an new one and give me the info I need about fiberglass. After much questions and smart azz responses on my other board I followed him here.

Great guy hard azz to deal with but much respect goes out.

If it's like mine was, it will be hard to sand without adding filler. I believe we lightly sanded it, then began adding filler, sanded it, and repeated. We didn't use any resin, just a regular Evercoat filler. And lots and lots of sandpaper. Almost all of the sanding was by hand, probably 90 percent of the effort.

As Laurie stated, this isn't a "weekend job" for the do-it-yourselfer and due to the amount of man-hours involved, it's not something that you'd want to farm out to a body shop. It's a "labor of love" project.