• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Horn Relay?

daveSanborn

I have no experience with the first generation cars and their horn relay.

With everything hooked up (minus the steering wheel), when I ground the contact switch on the steering column the horn relay "clicks" but I'm not getting any power out of either of the two wires leading to the horns. Does this indicate that the relay itself is bad?

Oddly, when I shoot power straight from the + battery terminal to either of the horns, neither of the horns honk, weird....

Maybe the horns themselves need a better ground where bolted to the radiator support?

I've only started the troubleshooting on this "last area" of the car's repairs, but I'd like to think that if the relay was working properly, my test light would illuminate when connected to one of the horn power wires while I was grounding the horn contact switch back on the column.

1964.5 car BTW with the generator removed. The Yellow wire that would normally route from the regulator to the relay is now a constant hot coming from the starter solenoid.

Any ideas?

First, let me state that I don't think 64.5 horns work any differently than the later years.

Secondly, there is no "horn relay". Power is supplied from either the fuse box, headlight switch, or other device to one side of the turn signal switch (yellow wire). By pressing the horn button, you make electrical contact between the two rings on the underside of the steering wheel so that voltage is now transferred to the blue/yellow wire that actually goes to the horns.