• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Oh crud, cracked towers...

"tarafied1" said:
Im a hack welder but a good grinder ( ask Bill) and i drive the crap out of my car every year. No broken welds yet.

He burnt up my favorite grinder :nut :pbj

Bill

If your looking to get a welder to keep for the longer term, get one with a variable voltage control. It's much easier to dial in the voltage than with the standard 135's 4 fixed voltage settings...

As mentioned above also, absolutely be sure to V groove when your welding thicker stock... The point of the V groove is it gives you a much wider surface area and much better penetration across a wider area with a side benefit of not standing too proud of the surface, so less grinding for cleanup.

I don't have shock towers so I don't know.... but aren't the towers too thick for a 135-140 amp welder? It seems for something like this you'd want a 175-180 amp welder.

"stangg" said:
If your looking to get a welder to keep for the longer term, get one with a variable voltage control. It's much easier to dial in the voltage than with the standard 135's 4 fixed voltage settings...

As mentioned above also, absolutely be sure to V groove when your welding thicker stock... The point of the V groove is it gives you a much wider surface area and much better penetration across a wider area with a side benefit of not standing too proud of the surface, so less grinding for cleanup.

I don't have shock towers so I don't know.... but aren't the towers too thick for a 135-140 amp welder? It seems for something like this you'd want a 175-180 amp welder.