• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Shifting issues on 4 speed trans

spitse

I have a new to me 65 mustang with a 4 speed standard. I assume it to be a top loader. Not sure if it is a true hurst shifter or not, but it has the shifter knob and handle marked with hurst.

My issue is when I go into reverse and move the vehicle, I am unable to get it it to go into 1st. I have to fiddle a while and then magically it will. I think it works when I shift back into R then back to Neutral, release clutch and then to 1st.

I’m new to the older ford standards (last classic mustang was an auto) and have read they are a bit cantankerous. Is this a sign of something bad or need of adjustment or what? I kind of want an idea if I take to a transmission shop what it might be so I am not taken advantage of. Or if this is something I could fix easily at home.

I need to update my profile but the car is a 65 “A” code standard with a 351w transplant. I don’t know much more than that as the door tag is gone.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have a new to me 65 mustang with a 4 speed standard. I assume it to be a top loader. Not sure if it is a true hurst shifter or not, but it has the shifter knob and handle marked with hurst.

My issue is when I go into reverse and move the vehicle, I am unable to get it it to go into 1st. I have to fiddle a while and then magically it will. I think it works when I shift back into R then back to Neutral, release clutch and then to 1st.

I’m new to the older ford standards (last classic mustang was an auto) and have read they are a bit cantankerous. Is this a sign of something bad or need of adjustment or what? I kind of want an idea if I take to a transmission shop what it might be so I am not taken advantage of. Or if this is something I could fix easily at home.