• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

TCI 2,400 stall speed Torque Converter

tarafied1

Well back in December I posted that I bought a TCI 2400 stall TC. I put it in a few weeks ago. I have been preparing for the 2016 HRPT. If you have followed my saga, last year on the PT the tranny (now named Caitlyn) was overheating at speeds above 60mph. I limped the car along the tour to the end but decided to rent a U-Haul truck and tow dolly to bring it home rather than try to drive ~700 miles below 60. Anyway, once home I still drove it a lot. The diagnosis was that the sprag must be locked up in the TC since everything else seemed to be working okay. So rather than put a junkyard stocker in there and since I still don't have $6K to convert to a TKO, I went with the TCI.
Well it's in! It drives like a car with a higher stall speed. But it's not too bad. I kinda like it. Two weekends ago I took it on about a 60 mile round trip that included about 20 miles on the interstate at 80+ mph, some city stop and go and some casual 60-ish country road driving. The tranny never got over 195. Granted the weather was in the 60's and not 90-100 like on the tour but I am reasonably comfortable it is fixed.
BUT, just to be sure, I decided to cut open the old TC. And guess what? It was the sprag. Pics below. The little springs in several rollers had failed and were jamming the rollers. Also the turbine and housing thrust washer was a bit gnarly looking.
IMG_3483.jpg Torque Converter cut open.jpg Torque Converter sprag failure.jpg Torque Converter turbine trust washer.jpg

Cool, looks like you found the culprit. Is that a floor jack you're rolling the tranny around on or what?

Well,