• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Tire wear with Arning drop?

classicdoug

I was going to do the Arning drop on a customer's 66 Coupe, but now he's hearing that on a regular street driven car that the tires will wear bad on the inside and it's basically a race car mod. Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't that why we have different alignment specs for cars with the drop? My point to him was if the car is aligned correctly, then there should be regular tire wear. Am I wrong?

Doug

you are right, what the arning drop does is change the UCA geometry so when the car leans, the top of the tire won't pull in. It moves the arc of motion lower so that in effect it won't be shorter as it travels downward. It should actually improve tire wear. I have been driving my car for two years with the arning drop and no noticable tire wear!

I'm with Craig, they should put the tires flatter to the ground (better wear, more tread to the pavement) than original but you must adjust the alignment to the new specs. or it will drive horrible at the stock settings. Many shops won't align these old cars or any car for that matter to anything other than what their stock manual/computer tells them to.
See the instructions ~3/4 the way down the page from Daze's site, i used his drop templates and am very happy with the results:
http://dazed.home.bresnan.net/drop

Jon

What others have said, who's spreading this crap? Probably the same people that owned a 63 Mustang with a factory 427 :eek:mg

"silverblueBP" said:
Probably the same people that owned a 63 Mustang with a factory 427 :eek:mg
Hey, I work with a guy who lived next door to another guy who owned that car!!

"midpack" said:
Hey, I work with a guy who lived next door to another guy who owned that car!!