• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

What funds are in your IRA?

monkeystash

It's time to get serious about saving for retirement, and I want to maximize the Roth. Vanguard index funds seem to be a favorite of many, what do you guys like? Thanks.

"lethal289" said:
All that info, was nearly 90 years ago, are they still around?
90 years ago?

I pretty sure they were active well into the eighties.

You should hit up Darreld (68EFIvert), he is an investment guy by trade, think he mentioned hanging up a shingle and going out on his own..

Honestly? I'm in cash right now (money market) I had some changes that started right around the time the market started failing, and had to move from one holding company to another. I now have a financial planner, and when I moved the money over, he said "Let's just keep it in cash."

I was like "uhh, aren't you supposed to stay in the market for the long haul, and dollar cost average etc?" he said "Yes...but the one thing I hate doing is telling my clients to buy things I know will go down. Pretty much, everything in the market right now is going to go down...but your cash won't lose value except for the inflation of your dollars." So I said, OK fine, and watched all my friends lose half (or more) of their retirement. My retirement is currently meager...but it stayed put. He said we'll start buying funds later this year, but he said this fire's not put out yet, so why jump back in?

Guy has saved me a ton so far...so I trust him.

Steve

I agree with Steve, thats where mine is now as well. Been itching to get back in, but the market is still bouncing around to much.

"monkeystash" said:
Wow, great investment info guys. :2guns