• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

1967 Stang Build

jking

I'm a newbie to this forum and to the older mustangs. I have always had fox body cars. Any advice or comments are more than welcome.

It is a 67 I bought from a guy whose great-grandmother bought new. He was going to drive it when he turned 16 but there was alot of rust. Him and his father started in on it. They put new floor pans, cowl panel, half quarter and had it stripped down to bare metal. I was afraid of how it was done but after looking they done a nice job. It came with the original engine and tranny 289/c4 with like 68xxx miles on it I think. It has the blinker hood, black interior, a/c, and power steering. I have the original build sheet also. I started working on the quarter and the cowl and put the patch panel in (not too happy with needs quite a bit more work). I am now stripping the fenders, hood, doors, and decklid. I have taken the car out to the paint booth at our high school (I am 18 just graduated and was in an autobody class and my teacher said we could paint it there. I have done 2 overall paint jobs and many repair jobs so I'm kind of familiar with body work.)

I decided not to use the 289 I have plenty of 302s and had a block that had already been bored 30, bearings, etc. The tranny is getting gone through right now to determine if it needs a rebuild and a street shift kit installed. I have a mild lunati cam and a set of gt40P heads that just had a valve job and hot tanked. I have a set of BBK shorties for them (spark plug clearance issues with my other 2 sets). Crank has been turned and a new set of hyper pistons on the way.