• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

1970 Sport Seat Upholstery Installed. Review and Pics inside.

Waffles

Ok, I did the sport seat conversion in my 70. I wanted the red mach 1 stripe to match my red car, so I got that color combo.

I'd like to premise this by saying I am NOT a professional upholsterer. This was my first time doing it, and all in all, I'm pretty proud of how it turned out considering this fact.

Review:

Price: Pretty comparable to standard seat reupholstery for my year. A good upgrade for a similar price.

Quality: The material matches the original stuff exactly (comparing to mach 1 upholstery, I had standard prior)

Installation: Fit could've been better, but everything aftermarket tends to not fit so well. The foams were SUPER stiff, which is fine, but the upholstery did NOT fit like it should. I know it should be tough to install, but I know for a FACT the top of the seat back is where it should be, and there was not enough material to come down to the seat latch button. There should've been another flap of fabric to help hide the extra foam at the bottom and there wasn't. I made it work with some pieces of the old upholstery, but I shouldn't have had to.

Comfort: I LOVE this stuff. The side bolsters prevent me from sliding out of my seat on a rough turn.