• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

2010 Cobra Jet

Here's what the caption said to the video:

"The 2010 Ford Racing Cobra Jet (FR500CJ) runs the quarter-mile in under 10 seconds."

DAMN!

I liked the pics I got in an email from FMS, are those 15" rims they're using? rim sure looks small compared to other new rims. I take it that smaller rims are beneficial for fatter sidewall tires on strip only cars?
Jon

"Jonk67" said:
I liked the pics I got in an email from FMS, are those 15" rims they're using? rim sure looks small compared to other new rims. I take it that smaller rims are beneficial for fatter sidewall tires on strip only cars?
Jon

I'm not a drag expert, but that's what I've been told.
I'm told that a short wall on the rears will almost assuredly cause you to spin since there's essentially no flex.
The sidewall flex with a small wheel takes some of the shock out of dropping the clutch.

In addition, smaller wheels means a smaller moment of inertia to get the wheel/tire rotating. This means more power to the wheels. This is one reason why I won't go to oversize wheels.

Update courtesy of: http://www.selectfords.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=134
-----------------------
Back in June Ford Racing announced plans to produce a 2010 FR500CJ 'Cobra Jet' Mustang to continue the Cobra Jet program for the new refreshed model. The 2009 Cobra Jet model was so well received it sold out all 50 limited edition units before it was produced. I have a feeling Ford Racing is hoping for the same type of situation on this model.