• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Floor Jack Recomendations

lethal289

I've been using this jack for the passed 4 years (Link Here). I'd say that about a year after owning it i started noticing a small oil leak. And i mean small. It would leave a dime sized mark after sitting for weeks or months at a time.

Because of this leak, i made it a habit to check the fluid levels every time before use.

Let this be a warning to EVERYBODY. Jacks are deadly, and need repaired at the first sign of trouble. This passed weekend, my jack failed. I lifted my 03 vert, and had the stands set aside, when i turned to grabbed them, the jack dropped straight to the ground. I usually have everything right there when lifting the car, so i normally would have been underneath by the time the car came crashing down. Scarred the chit out of me to say the least.

As i find myself in the market for a new jack, im left wondering; What floor jacks are you guys/girls using? What do you recommend? What should i stay away from and why? I'm not sure that aluminum is worth the extra $$$$ anymore after this one. I have my eye on two right now but wanted to get some opinions first. I'm very disappointed in craftsman, and think im most certainly switching brands. I've checked the reviews and lots of people have problems with craftsman jacks.

Take it back to Sears and get a new/diff one.

I have one Craftsman alum floor jack(don't remember size) that stays in the trailer, one 3 ton heavy floor jack I keep in the truck and a 3 1/2 ton NAPA floor jack in the garage. Plus each car has a small floor jack for changing all the flat tires! All have been good jacks with no leaks and no problems.

I NEVER get under a vehicle without stands and the jack.