• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Foam Backed Headliner

whelessray

Hello all. I am very new to this game. I just bought a 67 coupe that I am restoring. I have all the original stuff (289 numbers match, etc.) but I am putting a 351C in it. This is for fun. I will worry about resale value some other time. My question is has anyone used the foam backed headliner material for sale on ebay rather than the stock headliner or or the one piece headliners?

Welcome!

I just finished installing the one piece abs headliner from Mustangs to Fear this last weekend. Was not a tough job, but took some adjusting to make it work. I installed the foam backed one in a fox body, but not an early Mustang.

"guruatbol" said:
I like it, but how do you attach it?

Mel

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2

+2. You'd need the one-piece headliner mentioned above, otherwise there's nothing to attach it to. I also have the one-piece and would like to cover it with something.

Ray,
I assume that you will give the fabric to a headliner install shop so they can sew it up and install it using the factory bow supports?

I am researching buying ABS sheets to make the base for the headliner to attach to. Also, using ABS for the door liners. A sheet of ABS 48" X 96" costs $30.00. Here is link to a discussion concerning using ABS for door liners. http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/arch ... tml. From what I have learned so far, you can use a heat gun to form the ABS . So, form it to the roof and attach the foam backed headliner. Now, this is just an idea. It if works, the cost is one-third of the one piece system.