• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

GTSCODE Build

gtscode

So here it is I will start my build thread!!!

I have been restoring for the last 5 years, doing almost all of the work myself. I have had a ton of help from Craig (cmayna) Jeff Tepper and Mike (KBMWRS) who are all members here.

Its hard to capture 5 years in a few shots. That car was bought with the 302 and C4 (automatic trans). I found an original correct 390 and toploader (manual trans). I stripped the engine bay and put in a new suspension, brakes, fule lines before the car was painted.

I removed the engine and trans during paint but the new suspension and fuel were toast after media blasting.

I used that as an excuse and re-stripped the engine bay and put in a state of the art suspension and new brakes, fuel lines. Everything is new or restored!

Re: 1967 GT 390 Fastback with Deluxe Interior

Pics when I bought the car on ebay. It was my dream car and I searched for over a year until I found it on eBay.

It had all the original specs I wanted but had a 302 and automatic trans in it.

15ab.jpg

4d53.jpg

51ff.jpg

1764.jpg

I never realized this was a Xmas car. I'm sure glad you painted it.

So...you media blasted the engine compartment after installing new suspension? What happened to the suspension components that damaged them so that you had to replace them again? Aside from a bit of sand getting into tie-rod boots and UCA/LCA ball joints, I can't imagine what would be so bad. The tie-rod boots and ball joints should have kept the sand out of them...

"Midlife" said:
I never realized this was a Xmas car. I'm sure glad you painted it.