• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Hello

Scott Curry

Newbie here. 1966 candyapple red convertible owned since 1989 and a 1969 candyapple red Mach 1 in restoration, owned since 2014 I will jump right into the forum with a problem I'm having with my 1969 Mach 1. The previous owner had started the restoration on the Mach 1 but threw in the towel on it. I picked it up in 2014 and have continued the restoration. Drivetrain, paint and assembly are completed on the car. Only thing left is the interior and a few trim pieces for the body. The problem I'm having is with the brakes. The previous owner installed what appears to be a front disk power brake kit from Master Power brakes. I installed the stock 1969 distribution block/proportioning valve and attached the lines. I also bench bled the MC prior to hooking it all up. My father and I then bled the system starting at the right rear and working our way closer to the MC. The car had good pedal but after pumping it a few more times it became hard and I lost brakes at the left front wheel. We bled the system again and came out with the same result. The car was not running nor was the booster plugged into the intake. I installed the vacuum line to the intake and started the car. at that point I had a hard pedal that hardly traveled 1 inch. Also while bleeding I noticed that the top end of the pedal activated the rear brakes and the bottom of the pedal activated the front brakes. That seemed backwards to be. All the hard lines were installed to the distribution block according to the diagram in the shop manual. as was the MC hard lines. would this be a problem with the booster or the distribution block? and guidance would be appreciated

Thanks
Scott

Welcome to the nut house! Sounds like some cool rides. We love pictures!