• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

How much $ for expendables for paint job?

blu67

What can I expect to pay for expendable materials (sandpaper, paint, clear, etc.) for a paint job? Dave and I are working out labor rate for painting my car but materials are my responsibility. I have no idea what to expect for a modern paint job.

I'm just a hobbyist, so I typically use products that aren't the economy lines, but also won't use the expensive stuff if I'm painting it myself. Paint can get very expensive and all the ancellaries add up. Count on at least a $1000 for materials.

I'm working on my El Camino right now, here's about what I paid for materials over the last year.

Epoxy primer - at least $120 for 1 gallon sprayable.
Filler - $30
Urethane primer - at least $125 for 1.25 sprayable
glazing filler - $20
Metallic Color - $80 - $150+ per quart, count on at least 3 quarts.
Basemaker - 75 per Gallon
Clear - 80 to 400 for 1.25 sprayable gallons.
Sandpaper, etc... $75-$150
Paper / tape - $50-80
Cutting / Polishing $40-$80

It's hard to price body materials because there is a huge variance on the primers, colors and clear coats, etc.... The best thing to do is work with Dave to see what materials he prefers. You don't want to deviate from what the painter is accustomed to using as this will give you the best chance of getting a quality job. Stick to their formula.

For myself, I've stuck to the formula my local jobber prescribed to me as a hobbyist back in '96.
I've been using Nason primers (Owned by Dupont), and Dupont Chromabase for base color coat. For clears I use what ever the local jobber reccomends for a good in-expensive clearcoat.