• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

How safe is safe? Child seat question

sigtauenus

I was working on my motorhome for some friends to borrow, and while I had it apart to do some work on the freshwater water pump, which is located under a seat, I noticed that the seat belts were attached to a metal bracket which was about 3/8" diameter and that that bracket was screwed to the wood frame of the seat.

How cow Batman, seatbelts attached to wood in a vehicle?

This issue comes up again because in the past I've asked and read several discussions regarding seatbelts and child seats in the back of our cars. Most discussions involve welding or bolting heavy duty brackets to attach the seat belts and/or straps.

Do we as a group over engineer safety? (as if that's possible)

I'm not a mechanical engineer, so I'm wondering how you go about determining what size bracket would work ok for a child seat strap (like for using the newer LATCH system), or what means would be sufficient (bolt/washer sizes - welding) to attach that bracket to the floor/frame of the car.

determining what size bracket would work ok for a child seat strap

If the bracket is ONLY going to be used to secure a child seat/strap, it would be considerably smaller as the weight of the seat occupant is the driving factor. The bracket needs to be strong enough to exceed the greatest amount of momentum. Momentum = mass X velocity. Velocity would be the same regardless of the weight of the occupant.

Or something like that.

I'm not sure that your motorhome is considered a passenger vehicle. Non-passenger vehicle seat belt requirements differ from passenger vehicles.

I was rushed last time I posted, and just wanted to get that bit of info out...

I'm surprised nobody else has expounded on this subject, but I'm gonna go ahead and try.