• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Hydraulic throw-out bearing?

tarafied1

Anyone using a hydraulic throw-out bearing in a classic Mustang?
I have had about enough of the C6 slush box. Seriously looking at a TKO swap. Since the car is an auto, I need everything to convert so I figured that would be the best way to go. I have no experience with one however.

I put a Tilton in mine. Did a lot of research and decided this was the way I wanted to go. There seems to have been issues in the past with problems but given the success in SO many modern cars and everything I learned about Tilton in particular I am confident in the decision. They aren't cheap. Something north of $300. Makes for a clean installation/look too. I can get you more detail on part numbers and such of all the parts I used if you like. Just let me know.

I am looking at getting a quote from American Powertrain and Modern Drivline for the whole thing. I've tried pricing and piecing together the parts individually. I want to see if they can cut a deal on a package. But yes, I want to request the hydraulic throw-out as my set-up. If it's not too much trouble, a part number(s) would be great. I have seen prices well above $300 but I don't want a bunch of funky linkage or issues with the firewall strength on a cable and so on. If I am going to spend $2,500 on a trans, $600 on a bell housing, and so on, I don't mind spending more on the hydraulic throw-out bearing and have a clean reliable install.
This car has been a 26 year project and started on a very tight budget. As I get older and tired of billy rigged stuff or the short cuts I took in the past I am willing to spend more to do it right!