• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

That came back to bite me in the butt.

FordDude

Well-Known Dude
Staff member
We have a 2002 F150 that was bought new from a local Ford Dealer. So after 10 years and 80k miles I replaced the tires because of age and cracks in the sidewall. I also found a better set of factory rims, same size but cast aluminum instead of the ugly chrome rims. I upped the size from 235 70R 16 to 265 75R 16. No more changing gears, had to be done with a programmer. Found a local business, speedo guy, tuner, and such. Dialed it in just right. Fast forward to now. Time for smog check. In california they do not worry about vehicle condition, but they do worry about what comes out of your tailpipe. Go to the guy I have been using for a few years now and his business is boarded with plywood. OK start driving home and stop at the first smog check place I see. His bay is empty so he gets me in quick only to come and get me to show what is on the computer screen. I have to go to a referee station. So I look at the back of my registration and it says nothing about that, just to go to a test and repair station. Same result, this time I take a picture of the phone number. On hold forever and when I do get a human they say I have been randomly flagged for this check. Now I get an appointment for a phone call 2 weeks later (today). Minutes before the scheduled call at 0810 I got an email: