• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

70 boss 302. deal or no deal?

RapidRabbit

Donator
So I looked at this yesterday.

I'm not knowledgeable enough to know all about the boss cars, but I thought I'd see what you guys thought.

1970 boss 302. Original color yellow. Mostly original body panels.
Non original block. Not numbers matching.

Needs a full resto.

The guy is asking $35,000.

Just curious.
858dcc6bdc91585ed1a19d4cdcf442c7.jpg
dc48e0c5cc2d6e7cd7b29caa8f75a7c9.jpg
7741e1e5d2f5ee7f3505a0e3fb675a9e.jpg
9e822a5e37a7259079e51299836fef0c.jpg
f414387a482ad09b57272f1d0fa21b28.jpg
7991b194763e59840598d605992cde26.jpg

Sent from my motorola one 5G using Tapatalk

Too lazy to look up values of recent Boss sales. I'm far from a Boss expert. I'll answer based on what I know about the costs to make a car like this whole again.

I see serious rust in just about every panel. When you see something with rust through you know there is a lot more hiding behind the paint (and likely Bondo). No way the floors and rails aren't rusty as well unless they were replaced at some point but you'd have to figure if they did that they would have done quarters, etc as well. I see a car that would need a ton of metal work. If you can't do it yourself...walk away. It only gets more costly from here.

All the mechanicals would need gone through. That's pricey enough but if you need/want to stay true to using Boss bits that tag is much greater. I'd go inch by inch over it and verify all the Boss specific bits (good/bad/ugly) are present. If not, do a serious search to find out if the missing can be had and at what price.