• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Valves Hitting Pistons

jmbour66

Hello to all,

Please take a look at the 2 pictures and let me know if this looks the Valves are hitting the Pistons. The engine was used for drag racing and I'm thinking that it was revved way too high for way too long. But as you can tell from other threads, I'm not an expert! :Mark

Attachments

• Valve Kiss1.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 123
  • Valve Kiss 2.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 125
I don't see any obvious scratches in the piston, but if you think it's really been abused, I'd be looking at the valves. Do the faces of the valves look beat up, or do the valves seat all the way?? If a valve is bent, it probably won't seat well.

Smokey Yunick I ain't, so YMMV. :peter

This is what mine looked like when the gear drive grenaded and the valves hit:

26_29_06_09_6_54_40.JPG

26_28_06_09_5_02_53_3.JPG

26_28_06_09_5_03_55_0.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
"gotstang" said:
I don't see any obvious scratches in the piston, but if you think it's really been abused, I'd be looking at the valves. Do the faces of the valves look beat up, or do the valves seat all the way?? If a valve is bent, it probably won't seat well.

Smokey Yunick I ain't, so YMMV. :peter

The Valves look good on the head, I will pull them from the head soon and check straightness.

I did forget to mention that a couple of push rods were slightly bent, which caused me to look at the pistons and valves.

The crank/and pistons operate very smooth with no binding or grinding.

Throw the heads back on with some play dough clay flattened out on top of that piston and rotate the crank a coupe of times. Then take the head off and check how far the valve indented into the clay. If it went all the way thru then you know for sure if the valves are hitting the pistons.