• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

After a really long time.. the bay is painted!!!

OK, a little history:

I started off adding some shock tower reinforcements. The engine bay was already painted blue like exterior of the car, and I wanted to keep the engine bay the same color. However, the paint in the engine bay wasn't the same shade as the exterior, nor did it have any metal flake in the paint. So with that being said, I decided to get same shade of Caspian Blue and shoot the engine bay.

Well first off, this is my first time at ever using a spray gun... I broke down and bought a Debliss paint gun kit from Eastwood and reading everything I could find on the Internet about car painting. I decided to use Acrylic enamel since that's what on the rest of the car with an epoxy primer base. I did use some kind of hardener for enamels on the advice of a paint guy that I know.

My first attempt at shooting epoxy primer turned out really bad with A LOT of wrinkling. As a result, I had to strip all the paint off the engine bay. It felt like I would overcome one hurdle only for something else to prop up... and this went on for what seemed an eternity. Well today, I finally shot the blue. I had to be a little inventive with the cold weather; it was about 45-50 degrees in NC today, so between coats I would close the garage doors, turn the heat up full blast until it warmed the body up a bit, then open the doors again to shoot another coat.

All-in-all, I don't think it turned out that bad considering it's my first time. It definitely looks better than what was on it.

Here are the results:

normal_2011-01-03_-_Engine_Bay_Painting_002.jpg

normal_2011-01-03_-_Engine_Bay_Painting_006.jpg