• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Buying an AR-15 UPDATED

monkeystash

I'm going to buy an AR-15, as I see the writing on the wall. I have plenty of handgun experience, but fall a bit short in the rifle department. There is a huge wait for anything labeled "assault weapon," but fortunately I have a colleague who owns a gun store. He thinks weeks instead of months. Anyway, back to topic. Duane, Brian, Dave, Sluggo, Rick, etc; any of you guys have an AR or experience with one? I'm looking at about the $1000 price range, and my first choice is a CMMG, M4A3 style. I think I'd also buy a RRA, S&W, Bushmaster, Sabre, maybe a DPMS. What do you guys have and recommend? I have read most the reviews and done a ton of internet research, including AR15.com. :guns

Re: Buying an AR-15

I'd get the model that you can carry it on the plane w/you... :boo

"Midlife" said:
I'd get the model that you can carry it on the plane w/you... :boo

Actually Mid, we can do that now (just not with an AR.) 1 week of training in New Mexico and the TSA gives you a H&K and a badge, and calls you a Federal Flight Deck Officer. I'll get around to it one day.

DPMS is a good product and probably the more reasonably priced of the bunch.

I cobbled mine together from parts. Bushmaster pre-ban A1 carbine upper, dpms post ban lower and trigger kit, surplus stock, rock river arms bolt, carrier and latch.
And some other goodies. Green laser, light, forward grip with storage, bipod, illuminated scope, etc Real handy for hunting varmints.

1_07_08_08_10_32_36.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

"monkeystash" said:
Damn Sluggo, that is sweeeeeeet! Is that a 11.5" barrel?

Yep. The 5.5 inch muzzle brake makes it legal. :2guns

Real handy for hunting varmints.

1_07_08_08_10_32_36.jpg