• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Running lean?

limeyboy

Hi guys,
I thought I'd have a go at a homemade ram air bonnet and it kind of does something, after I've been for a run the lid of the filter is Ice cold and the surround is hot so it must be working up to a point.
My question is will all the extra cold air make her run lean when I'm flooring it?
I'm fitting some Sanderson block huggers soon and as I have to make up link pipes I will put an afr bung in and probably get n AEM kit so I can check properly.

Any thoughts?
Cheers
Jeff

sorry about the photos, I've lost the software I knew how to use and I'm still learning the only one I had left!!!
R1_0.jpgR2_0.jpgR3_0.jpgR4_0.jpgIMG_20220307_115811_0.jpg

Colder air is more dense than warmer air, but probably not enough to affect the tune for a street car.

I think you are right but I've had the first and only backfire through the carb at high speed so I'll be careful until I have a gauge for the afr set up.
I checked the plugs and they are very clean ( she's always run very well, on the lean side if anything) but unless I do a proper plug chop it is really only tick over I'm checking.

A backfire at high speed (was this high rpm or only speed?) could be due to a number of things: timing, bad valve seating, bad power valve in the carb, poor carb tune, misfire, etc. If it only happened once, I wouldn't be too concerned, but if it was continuous and/or consistent, then I would start investigating. Timing and carb issues would be at the top, I think.

It was high rpm 5,000 and it only happened the once and she starts and runs very well so I hope it was just a one off.
As the weather has gone right off now here in the UK I'm going to put her up on stands and take the Hookers off and fit the Sanderson's, not a job I'm looking forward to!