• Hello there guest and Welcome to The #1 Classic Mustang forum!
    To gain full access you must Register. Registration is free and it takes only a few moments to complete.
    Already a member? Login here then!

Console Attempt #1

66gt350

Since moving my e-brake to the center console, I found an old POS center console that was in pretty bad shape that I didn't mind cutting up. Using some think 20 gauge steel, here's my first attempt at making the center console:

console1.jpg

It reminided me that I can't weld worth a shart...and welding thin steel I'm even worse at!! I thought of using some bondo to smooth out the grinding marks and waviness, and that reminded me that I'm even worse at bondo and bodywork than I am a welder...so screw it, good enough for the girls I go with!!

I'm gonna paint the console black and the new center black. I'm still trying to figure out how to make a boot for the e-brake, and how to best connect the the center to the console. And I still need to trim the front up a bit for the front cap.

edit* sorry about using a bad word, the fingers were going a million miles per hour and the brain never kicked in... I hope that I won't get flogged to badly! :beat

Last edited by a moderator:
"66gt350" said:
... good enough for the girls I go with!!
I haven't heard that line since I was in high school! Anyway, it doesn't look bad, any more pics?

"66gt350" said:
It reminided me that I can't weld worth a shat...

[admin]Sorry I had to edit your post, but we try to keep that word on the password protected boards only. I'm sure you either didn't know or it was just an oversight. Either way, no big deal, we just don't like editing member's posts without explaining ourselves.[/admin]

"AtlantaSteve" said: